

SOS Cottesloe Inc RESIDENTS & RATEPAYERS ASSOCIATION ARN A1005384K

Ann ual Gen eral

PO Box 494, Cottesloe WA 6911

Meeting Sunday 26 October, 2014, 4.45 pm Cottesloe Civic Centre

1 Welcome, attendance and apologies

Ingrid & Roger Fitzhardinge, Mary Prout, Chilla Bulbeck, Jack & Rosie Walsh

2 Minutes AGM 27 February – circulated via email, taken as read.

Moved

Seconded

3 Chairperson's Report

The Cottesloe Residents & Ratepayers Association is a group of interested and active electors that aims to work with Council on a range of matters.

We have a strong interest in the local community, particuarly on significant issues in and around Cottesloe. The date for this Annual General Meeting was set back in June so we could realign the AGM with the financial year 2014-2015. The committee has met several times with most of the activity being carried out via email. As members you have been on the receiving end of many emails, with aim of keeping you informed.

Over the past eight months as your Chairperson I have been involved in a number of activities:

• I have written letters to members of parliament, Post newspaper and gathered signatures to be included in a petition to parliament

I have written submissions to:

- The Environmental Protection Authority opposing the Govts 'catch and kill' shark policy
- A submission to Cottesloe Council in support of CoastCare and the Councils Natural Areas Management Plan, a significant Policy for Cottesloe.
- Submission to the Dept of Racing, Gaming & Liquor regarding the North Cottesloe Surf Lifesaving Club application for extended liquor licence.

Council subsequently decided not to support the Surf Club application and the Surf Club has since withdrawn its application.

- Submission to Cott Council regarding John Black Dune Park Concept Plan.
- Submission to Cottesloe Council for a once off grant to set up a Youth Council. This submission was not supported by Councillors.

A successful Special Electors Meeting was held in March with more than 200 residents attending. The purpose of the meeting was to let Cottesloe Councillors know that their then support for a G5 or G4 amalgamation was not acceptable to their Electors. We were very pleased that the Cottesloe Council responded to the Electors and subsequently withdrew from the amalgamation process

 I wrote aSubmission to the Local Govt Advisor5y Board regarding amalgamation and the flawed process being implemented by Minister Simpson.

Amalgamation is ongoing. Across the metroplitan areas there is widespread opposition to the Premiers reform agenda. We have been part of the Community Action Alliance – a group with representatives from across the metropolitan area - Serpentine/Jarrahdale, Cockburn Canning Kalamunda, Vincent, Vic Park, Dadour Group, Claremont South Perth, Western Suburbs Alliance. There is no support anywhere for the amalgamation process except from developers.

The reform process has been shambolic, is undemocratic, unlawful and misleading. It is unrequested, unjustified and unfunded. It will strip communities of their identity and favour developers. There have been serious problems in Queensland, Victoria and South Australua where forced amalgamations have occurred.

As an Association we strongly oppose Government's reform process. There will be social and economic cost in what has been announced this week. The intention of the Premier and Minister Simpson is not in the best interest of Cottesloe. All Councils in the western suburbs should work together. We urge Cottesloe Councillors to hold the line on amalgamation. Do not give in.

- **5 Treasurer's Report** hand over to Treasurer Gail Manton to give her report.
- 6 Election of Office Bearers Nominations have been received from:

Chairperson	John Hammond
Vice Chair	Greg Boland
Secretary	Yvonne Hart
Treasurer	Gail Manton
Committee	Carolien Giele
	Columba Tierney
	Pat Carmichael
	Rob Thomas
	Edward Para
	Reece Whitby

6 Hand over to new Chairperson John Hammond

Meeting closure

5.00-6.00 pm Open Q&A forum

Apologies:

David Templeman (Member Mandurah, Shadow Minister Local Govt) Simon O'Brien MLC (member for South Metropolitan)

Acknowledge:

Mayors:

Jock Barker (Claremont) Heather Henderson (Subiaco) Max Hipkins (Nedlands) Ron Norris (Mosman Park) Rachel Thomas (Peppermint Grove) Jo Dawkins (Cottesloe) Bret Christian (Post newspaper) Councillors from Cottesloe and other local Councils.

Invite panellists to the table

Jo Dawklns, (Welcome on behalf of Cottesloe Council)

Introduce panel members

Each to speak for 5 minutes

Ian Ker – former Councillor, Town of Vincent (legal challenge to amalgamation) Ken Eastwood, Western Suburbs Alliance (petition to Parliament) Ron Norris, Chair, Councils for Democracy)

Open questions from the floor

Questions to be brief – panel members to respond – **5 min responses**.